I never thought blogging would… – #blogtober14 Day 10

IMG_1362 (2)
… be what I look forward to when I get up. Obviously this is a rather difficult question to ask a newbie blogger like myself. I have to admit, that I have been blogging for less than a week, so to me pretty much everything is still new. Due to my work experience, I’ve had to deal with plenty of blogs, so I know a thing or two about content strategies, but personal blogging? That’s a completely new thing for me. But in all honesty, I really hope that the initial enthusiasm will not wear off, because I could see myself doing this for a very, very long time.

I never thought that blogging would be so rewarding. I’m pretty sure that most of the smaller, and even the bigger bloggers, can agree on the fact that refreshing your latest stats to see new visitors, new views, and new comments can be pretty effin’ rewarding. I’ve been loving it. Especially, since I never thought writing would be MY thing. However, I’ve noticed how naturally it comes to me and that I, like hopefully a bunch of sane humans, just want to connect. Isn’t that the whole point? To find like-minded people, to connect and exchange experiences, dreams, hopes, and inspirations? I love, love, love waking up in the mornings to see that people from New Zealand, South Africa, the US, and many other places in the world checked out my thoughts and opinions about whatever is going on in my life. I LOVE it.

I never thought blogging would be so therapeutic. I mean, yeah, we all know that they recommend keeping a diary to unleash all of your feelings, fear and whatnot. But blogging allows you to get straight feedback from people who might have the same fears, passions, and ambitions like you do. How freakin’ cool is that? Just the other day I have my new Name-Twin Sam from “My Legendary Style” swing by and leaving a very kind comment. It seemed like we had so much in common and when I swung by her blog, it was confirmed even more. Now, this is something that doesn’t happen very often and blogging enabled me to meet a very cool chick. This goes out to so many other fellow bloggers who connected with me and also shared their views with me. It’s about connection and not just networking. It’s about expressing yourself and kind of thinking yourself “… wow, I thought I was the only person who did/thought this (way)!” And isn’t this how some of the coolest friendships start?! – Check!

I never thought blogging would be what I would consider a personal ambition. Most people who know me, know very well that I’m very ambitious and a bit competitive as well. Not competitive in an annoying, “nobody-wants-to-play-boardgames-with-me” way, but in a very “I-really-need-to-rock-at-this” kind of way. I feel like being a blogger now  (and yes, I know, I’ve been blogging for 6 days, but why sell myself undervalue?) is the start of something great, a great adventure that kind of just happened over night and has been so rewarding already. Will I pursue professional blogging? Who knows. If enough people like what I have to share, I wouldn’t exclude it. But this is not why I started this in the first place. This personal ambition includes the want to put myself out there and maybe, maybe touch someone or make them feel understood, because I’m feeling/thinking/experiencing the same thing they’re going through. And if I succeed at that, this blogging-thing has been more than enough for me.

And last but not least… I never thought blogging would be so much fun. Let’s step away from all the mushy stuff and talk about the fun this hobby/profession just brings to our lives. It is fun, isn’t it? To have no restrictions whatsoever when letting the world hear your “voice” via your blog. We are all different and I think that everyone brings something to the table that is not necessarily unique (c’mon it’s kind of hard using the word “unique when there are 7 billion people on this planet) but let’s just say “great.” Anyone has greatness and anyone, really even the people who won’t give you that first impression, have something they’re great at. So this is fun! And I really hope it stays fun for a veeeery long time, because life is filled with enough things that are not-so-fun and I refuse to let blogging be a part of that.

Today, I really cannot wait to read what my fellow bloggers have written! Mode: Stoked!

xx

Sam

Helene in Between Blogtober
5 thoughts on “I never thought blogging would… – #blogtober14 Day 10

  1. Welcome to the Bloggy world! I think it’s so much fun, when I started I had NO idea anyone would stop by let alone keep up with my blog. I like connecting too & I can’t wait to get home and leave comments. Some days I’ll take a day or few off because I’m so busy but it also gives a little time to refresh. I hope your having a great weekend!

    Like

    • Aww, thank you, Leslie! Since I just recently started, I still have all of that energy and the motivation, but I’m sure that it will get stressful as well, so I will have to take a few breaks myself. I’m taking a big exam for university next week, so I will definitely have to post less in order to study. Thanks for stopping and hopefully we’ll keep in touch! Have a great weekend yourself! xx

      Like

  2. I think I was basically nodding through the whole post 🙂 I totally agree! I have been blogging on and off for a long time, right now I feel more like a newbie and I totally feel you ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

