My fear of Santa & other amazing tales… – #blogtober14 Day 14

… and I knew this day would come. I skipped a day in the #blogtober14 challenge, because I have a major confession to make: I hate cooking! There, I said it. It doesn’t really mean that I don’t know how to cook, I just really dislike cooking. That’s why I didn’t post anything yesterday, so yeah, boo me.

Let’s all talk about my favorite childhood memory. Haha… man, I’m seriously already laughing, while thinking about all of the memories I made as a child. It is impossible to just pick one, so be warned: This will be a collection rather than just one single favorite memory. While I have to say that my childhood was a ridiculous collection of adventures and weirdly “not-funny” parents, who thought pranking their two children was some sort of unwritten parenting rule. In retrospect, I am lucky enough to have extremely young parents, who still prank the crap out of me and my brother. So, tons of pranks and hilarious childhood memories there that probably won’t be revealed all in one post – trust me, you don’t want to read this much.

The love-hate relationship with Santa

kid3

As a child, and even now as an adult, Christmas has always been my favorite time of year. The mood people are in, the fashion, the weather, the festivities – pretty much everything about it just makes me happy. Now, maybe I was a little twisted being, because even to this day my mother would tell me that I would beg her to take me to the Christmas Market (it’s a real thing here in Germany, you should check it out) and have my picture with Santa taken. “That’s nothing out of the ordinary, Sam. A lot of kids can’t wait to have their picture taken with Santa.” – Touche, my friends. But I was that little kid, who would be taken all the way to Santa, just to see him in person and start pouting and crying because I was so afraid of him. EVERY year. What kid does that? And my parents loved it, because then they would feel like little superheroes showing “Miss Short Pants” a.k.a. my little self that Santa is not all that bad and that they will protect me. Although I loved Christmas more than anything, there was another fear that pretty much ruined about 20 perfectly christmastly minutes of my childhood years, I’ll never get back…

kid6

… the fear of snowmen. Really? Snowmen are adorable and every kid loves them, but I was just very scared. That didn’t stop my hilarious family to take pictures of me making the weirdest faces on the planet. As an adult, I’m thankful for it, because it leaves me with plenty of different memories. As a kid, I probably thought to myself “What is wrong with all of these tall humans I’m surrounded with?!”

Siblings are amazeballs

kid

Most of my childhood memories obviously include the coolest baby brother in the world. I think that quite a few people out there can relate when as a boy you’ve had to hold a few barbies in place for the perfect game story and as a girl you probably had to put some soldiers in a place for a little battlefield action. That totally describes the relationship I have with my brother. Being almost 4 years apart it wasn’t always easy, but we surely made the best out of it!

Little Firecracker

kid4

As you see, I couldn’t just pick one favorite childhood memory, because it is just impossible for me to do. I am so fortunate to have had a great childhood filled with so much joy and love from my family that it is hard to just pick one thing I love the most. This picture truly captures my childhood, no more words needed.

Hope you had fun on this little walk down memory lane. What was your childhood like? What is your favorite memory? Can’t wait to hear from you guys!

xx

Sam

4 thoughts on “My fear of Santa & other amazing tales… – #blogtober14 Day 14

Leave a Reply

